News

Friday, June 23, 2017
Special session gets underway; Republicans introduce new compromise plan

Special session gets off to slow startThe Governor has called the House and Senate into special session for each of the last 10 days of June, or until a balanced…


Friday, June 16, 2017
Legislature called into special session; state tax revenue increases slightly

Special sessions called for late JuneGovernor Rauner has called the House and Senate into special session beginning Wednesday June 21 and continuing through the end of June. As you know,…


Monday, June 12, 2017
Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal: Deadline to Apply for Pyrotechnic License is June 15

The Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal (OSFM) is reminding all qualified cities, towns and villages that the deadline to apply for Limited Pyrotechnic Distributor licenses is June 15,…


Friday, June 9, 2017
Illinois debt rating downgraded again; procurement reform passes

Another debt downgrade for IllinoisBefore adjourning the spring session without a budget agreement in place, state officials were warned by the major credit rating agencies that the state would face…


Thursday, June 8, 2017
How Senate Bill 1 Fails Our Schools

Friday, June 2, 2017
House adjourns without reaching budget agreement

Adjournment deadline passes, no agreement on budgetThe House adjournment deadline came and went Wednesday night without an agreement on a budget for either the current fiscal year or the next…


Friday, June 2, 2017
VIDEO: Rep. Bennett Offers Recap of the Final Week of the 2017 Spring Session

Saturday, May 27, 2017
Rep. Bennett Recaps the Week in Springfield for May 26th

Friday, May 26, 2017
Grand bargain bills arrive in House; nurse layoffs avoided

A note to readersAs I write this on Friday, May 26, we are right in the middle of the end-of-session crush of activity at the Capitol ahead of our May…


Thursday, May 25, 2017
VIDEO: Rep. Bennett Gives Update on Last Week’s Action in Springfield